Thursday, 25 June 2015

2015 Resilient Australia Awards - Schools Award

Contact: Cheryl Ames, Department of Police & Emergency Management

Intended Audience: Pre-School, Primary & Secondary

Applications are open for the 2015 Resilient Australia Awards. Now in their 16th year, the awards are a national program to recognise and promote initiatives which strengthen community disaster resilience. Disaster resilience is about making our communities safer, stronger and better prepared to manage natural disasters. By celebrating innovation and best practice, the awards showcase work that is often unrecognised, inspiring others to think about how they can be more disaster resilient.

This year there are five Tasmanian State award categories, including a new award for schools (pre-school, primary and secondary) and a photography award for photos that communicate work in disaster resilience. There are three National awards categories.

Nominations for awards close 9 August 2015. To submit a nomination, go to

Voting in the People's Choice Photography Award is open from 10-31 August. To vote, go to

Photograph Poster
School Poster